SAS Day Skipper Course

RYA Day Skipper Course

SAS Day Skipper Training:

The Day Skipper Course covers all aspects of skippering a modern cruising yacht including boat handling, navigation, pilotage and seamanship skills. During the course you’ll skipper a short passage under the watchful eye of your instructor and gain the experience and confidence that allow you to skipper a cruising yacht in familiar waters from sunrise until sunset.  Familiar waters is defined as 15 nautical miles from the skippers home port, or 25 miles from their home port, provided they are no more than 15 nautical miles from an approved safe haven.


To earn your SAS Day Skipper Certificate of competence, you will require the following pre requisites:


  • 200 nautical miles
  • 2 night hours on watch
  • One night entry into the candidates home port
  • SAS Day Skipper Theory which consists of colregs and chartwork
  • SAMSA SRC Radio Licence
  • Visual Acuity Test to confirm your vision, and that you are not colour blind.

The International Certificate of Competence

The International Certificate for Operators of Pleasure Craft – more commonly known as the International Certificate of Competence or ICC – was established under Resolution 40 of the Working Party on Inland Water Transport of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE). It has become quite common for charter companies in the Mediterranean to request the ICC. Both SA Sailing and the RYA recommend that people wishing to go cruising around Europe and the Mediterranean obtain an ICC.


SA Sailing has been authorised to issue the ICC. The prerequisites are:


  • The person must be at least 16 years of age.
  • The person must be a South African national or a South African resident with a valid South African ID document.
  • The person must hold an appropriate SA Sailing or SAMSA Certificate of Competence. For SA Sailing certificates the minimum requirement is a SA Sailing Day Skipper Certificate of Competence, and the ICC issued is for power and sailing vessels <24m in coastal waters. For SAMSA certificates the minimum requirement and the corresponding ICC is given in the table below.
SAS International Certificate of Competence

SA Sailing is not authorised to issue an ICC based on older styles of certificates such as those issued by Pretoria for category A1(1) or A1(4). Holders of these certificates must have them converted by SAMSA to the new format before applying for an ICC. There are ICC certificates for inland waters and coastal waters.


SA Sailing only issues the ICC for coastal waters because ICC for inland waters requires detailed knowledge of the European CEVNI regulations for inland waters. The International Certificate of Competence issued by SA Sailing is valid for 5 years.


Please complete the form below and we will get back to you.