SAS Coastal Skipper Course

RYA Coastal Yachtmaster

SAS Coastal Skipper Course:

This course is aimed at the more experienced Day Skipper and will provide the student with the knowledge needed to complete more demanding coastal passages by day and night. The course covers more complex boat handling, pilotage and passage planning. It’s recommended that you have already completed 300 miles, 8 night hours with over 15 days on board and 2 days as Skipper. You will require navigation skills at the level of Coastal Skipper/Yachtmaster theory.


Before you can be examined at SAS Yachtmaster Coastal Certificate of Competence, you will require the following:


  • 800 nautical miles
  • 24 night hours
  • Three skippered passages of at least 60 nautical miles each
  • SAS Coastal Skipper theory , which consists of chartwork and Colregs
  • SAMSA SRC Radio Licence
  • Elementary First Aid Certificate
  • Visual Acuity Test

The International Certificate of Competence

The International Certificate for Operators of Pleasure Craft – more commonly known as the International Certificate of Competence or ICC – was established under Resolution 40 of the Working Party on Inland Water Transport of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE). It has become quite common for charter companies in the Mediterranean to request the ICC. Both SA Sailing and the RYA recommend that people wishing to go cruising around Europe and the Mediterranean obtain an ICC.


SA Sailing has been authorised to issue the ICC. The prerequisites are:


  • The person must be at least 16 years of age.
  • The person must be a South African national or a South African resident with a valid South African ID document.
  • The person must hold an appropriate SA Sailing or SAMSA Certificate of Competence. For SA Sailing certificates the minimum requirement is a SA Sailing Day Skipper Certificate of Competence, and the ICC issued is for power and sailing vessels <24m in coastal waters. For SAMSA certificates the minimum requirement and the corresponding ICC is given in the table below.
SAS International Certificate of Competence

SA Sailing is not authorised to issue an ICC based on older styles of certificates such as those issued by Pretoria for category A1(1) or A1(4). Holders of these certificates must have them converted by SAMSA to the new format before applying for an ICC. There are ICC certificates for inland waters and coastal waters.


SA Sailing only issues the ICC for coastal waters because ICC for inland waters requires detailed knowledge of the European CEVNI regulations for inland waters. The International Certificate of Competence issued by SA Sailing is valid for 5 years.


Please complete the form below and we will get back to you.